Costa Rica is part of Central America and the larger North American continent. It is officially known as the Republic of Costa Rica. The country covers an area of 19,714 square miles (51,060 sq km).

The country is located on the western side of the Caribbean situated between the 8° and 12°N latitudes and the 82° and 86° W longitudes bordering the countries of Nicaragua to the north and Panama to the south.

Cerro Chirripo with a peak of 12,530 feet (3,819 m) is the tallest summit in the country and the 5th tallest in Central America. The tallest volcano is Irazu Volcano at 11,257 feet (3,421 m).

The largest lake is Lake Arenal and the surrounding area is home to Mount Arenal which is one of the most popular and commonly visited volcanoes. Arenal Volcano National Park features the namesake volcano which is the most active in the country. Mount Arenal reaches a summit of 5,357 feet (1,633 m).

Costa Rica is home to 14 volcanoes with 6 of them erupting over the past 75 years. Along with the erupting volcanoes, the country has over 10 earthquakes exceeding a magnitude of 5.6.

Approximately 25% of the country’s boundaries are dedicated to protected areas. This is motived by the reality that Costa Rica is home to one of the greatest density and diversity of species in the world.

Corcovado National Park is one of the protected areas along the Caribbean sea. The park is spread across 164 square miles (424 sq km) of the beachfront and neighboring areas.

There are 28 national parks in Costa Rica and each beckons a visitor from travelers who have a passion for nature. It is a haven for beachgoers, mountain lovers, jungle and rainforest exploration, and wildlife enthusiasts.